2015 Adult Swim Singles Program, Week 13: Slayer – “Cast The First Stone”

Week 13 - Slayer - Cast The First Stone

Hey, guys. RobBarracuda here, and it’s time to talk about the latest free song from the Adult Swim Singles Program.

 

Before we start, can we talk about how weird it is that Adult Swim apparently has enough clout to get a goddamn Slayer song?! Hell, even Jason DeMarco, the Lich King himself, seemed surprised by this, according to this interview with Uproxx.

“…I never thought they would ever work with us – I mean, they’re SLAYER. We don’t have the money to pay them what they’re used to, and they don’t need the exposure. We had very little to offer them! Luckily, the guys are fans of Adult Swim and thought it sounded like a cool idea.”

So what can be said about Slayer? They’re one of the biggest and most iconic metal bands of all time, one of the famed Big Four of thrash, responsible for putting out legendary releases like Reign In Blood and Seasons In The Abyss, taking the thrash genre to new extremes and even influencing the death metal genre in the process. However, I can’t say they’ve been as good or enjoyable in recent years. Every album since Diabolus In Musica has been painfully average for me, and the tragic unfortunate passing of founding member and guitarist Jeff Hanneman in May of 2013 kind of diminished my hopes that they’d ever get as good as their classic material. But anyway, onto the song.

“Cast The First Stone” is the fourth single released from their upcoming album Repentless*, due out on September 11. This will be their first album in a while with a major line-up change, with Exodus guitarist Gary Holt replacing the late Hanneman, and Paul Bostaph taking Dave Lombardo’s place on drums for the second time in Slayer’s career. While the previous singles didn’t impress me much, I gotta admit that this song is surprisingly pretty good, for a couple of reasons. First off: Paul Bostaph. Ho. Lee. Shit. The drumming on this track is some of the most incredible and on-point I’ve ever heard across the entire group’s catalog, and I’d even say it puts Lombardo at his best to absolute shame.

Secondly, and most interesting to me: the general vibe of the song. The song seems very evocative of the style of Slipknot, which I’m aware is an odd comparison to make since Slayer’s been around way longer than them, and Slipknot often cites Slayer as a big influence on their sound. Then again, Slipknot is my all-time favorite band, and if you remind me of them, then I’d say you’re doing something right. Unfortunately, it’s not a perfect song, with the main problem being that Tom Araya’s vocals sound really weak, which has kind of been the case for the last decade or so. Still, given that I wasn’t too optimistic about this single, I’d call “Cast The First Stone” a pleasant and enjoyable surprise. You can listen to the song below, and of course you can download it and the other singles for free right here. That’s it for this week, and I’ll see you all next week.

 

*The actual title of the album. …I totally didn’t steal this joke from Metalsucks, btw. I didn’t, I swear!

Leave a Reply

